Skip to content Skip to navigation

SoAP 2020 Election Results

SoAP Box: 
Division Announcements

Summer 2020

Lauren A. Hoffman, PhD, Christian Garcia, MS, & Alan Crutchfield, MS

SoAP Nominations & Elections Committee
Chair: Lauren A. Hoffman, PhD
Student Members: Christian Garcia, MS & Alan Crutchfield, MS

Thank you to everyone that expressed an interest in running for the three offices open this election cycle. Ultimately, there were six named candidates on the Division 50 ballot, all well qualified. Two hundred eighteen votes were cast or ~30% of the Division’s voting membership. Congratulations to our newly elected officers!

Mark Sobell is our new President-Elect, Bruce Liese was elected APA Council Representative, and Lesia Ruglass was elected Member-at-Large (Public Interest).

Thanks to our voting members, our division earned a second APA Council Representative Seat. Thank you to everyone who took the time to vote and make our continued representation possible.

Thanks to the outgoing board members for their dedication and contributions to SoAP! Running for office is one way to give back to the field and increase your visibility at the national level. Later this year, we will be looking to fill the following positions: President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Member-At-Large (Science), Member-At- Large (Early Career Psychologists), and APA Council Representative. If you are interested in running for one of these positions, please contact Lauren Hoffman, Chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee (

Follow Us

Facebook IconTwitter Icon