Skip to content Skip to navigation

Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Understanding of Addictions


This award would be given to a non-SoAP member, and could be awarded for outstanding media portrayal, contribution to key legislation, or other contributions that has been made to advancing the understanding of the addictions.


Anne Fletcher (2003)

Maia Szalavitz (2004)

David Sheff (2005)

Mark Willenbring (2008)

Howard Shaffer (2010)

Ken Burns (2012)

Anne Fletcher (2014)

Cora Lee Wetherington (2016)

Jason Cherkis (2017)

Carlton Erickson (2018)

Sanjay Gupta (2019)

David Sheff (2020)

Follow Us

Facebook IconTwitter Icon